logo infoclio
Table of contents








Silvia Berger Ziauddin & Leo Grob

Below Ground. History and Futures of the Underground Frontier


ISBN: 978-3-906817-15-6
DOI: 10.13098/infoclio.ch-lb-0011
Publication date: 2024

Abstract


Today, the underground realm is treated as a comprehensive resource and the new frontier. And it is a fact that underground realms are currently being techno-scientifically penetrated at an increasing pace and integrated into the dynamics of capitalist accumulation. This Living Book examines this “underground frontier” from a historical perspective and simultaneously sheds light on the promises presently tied up with the depths of the Earth.
Subterranean worlds exerted ever greater fascination in the second half of the 19th century, owing to capitalist mining ventures, geological mapping, and mechanised tunnel construction. Such developments fired fantasies of better future societies that would live in technology-driven underground spheres.
In the late 19th century cities also expanded into the depths trough the development of underground infrastructures. This “big dig” in the metropolises came to mirror the vertical class-based social stratification; and among the bourgeoisie, it sowed the seeds of fear of clandestine subterranean threats.
Appropriation of the underground as a protective zone accelerated during the periods of “total war” in the 20th century. By the mid 20th century, engineers and architects were recognising the potential of subterranean space as a comprehensive and seemingly inexhaustible resource for urban development. The 1970s and later decades gave rise to promises that have culminated in the scientific discussions and public debates we are seeing today: the underground is alleged to be a “terra nullius” and frontier that must be awoken from its slumber and exploited, to spawn resilient and sustainable future communities.
The introductory essay in this Living Book emphasises the need to bring historical context and critical analysis to bear on the supposed promise of the “underground frontier” and the associated, often unexamined concepts.

logo infoclio
Inhaltsverzeichnis








Silvia Berger Ziauddin & Leo Grob

In die Tiefe. Geschichte und Zukünfte der Underground Frontier


ISBN: 978-3-906817-15-6
DOI: 10.13098/infoclio.ch-lb-0011
Erscheinungsdatum: 2024

Abstract


Der Untergrund wird heute als umfassende Ressource und neue Frontier gehandelt. Tatsächlich werden Sphären unter Grund aktuell mit zunehmender Geschwindigkeit techno-wissenschaftlich durchdrungen und in die kapitalistische Akkumulationsdynamik eingebunden. Das Living Book betrachtet diese «underground frontier» aus historischer Perspektive und beleuchtet gleichzeitig die Verheissungen, die gegenwärtig mit der Tiefe verbunden werden.
Ab der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts gewann der Untergrund durch den hochkapitalistischen Montanbau, geologische Kartierungen und den mechanisierten Tunnelbau an Faszination. Diese Entwicklungen nährten die Vorstellung von besseren zukünftigen Gesellschaften, die in technisierten subterranen Sphären leben.
Auch Städte wuchsen durch den Ausbau unterirdischer Infrastrukturen am Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts immer mehr in die Tiefe. Das «grosse Buddeln» ging einher mit einer sozialen Stratifikation in der Vertikalen und bereitete den imaginativen Nährboden für Ängste der Bourgeoisie vor subterranen Bedrohungen.
Im 20. Jahrhundert beschleunigte sich die Aneignung des Untergrunds als Schutz- und Sicherheitszone während der totalen Kriege. Ab der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts erkannten Ingenieure und Architekten zudem das Potenzial des subterranen Raums als umfassende, scheinbar unerschöpfliche «Ressource» für die urbane Entwicklung. Ab den 1970er Jahren entstanden Wahrnehmungsmuster und Verheissungen, die heute in wissenschaftlichen Diskussionen und öffentlichen Debatten ihren Höhepunkt erreichen: Der Untergrund als vermeintliche «terra nullius» und Frontier, die es zu erwecken beziehungsweise zu erobern gilt, um für die Zukunft resiliente und nachhaltige Gesellschaften zu schaffen.
Der einführende Essay des Living Book betont die Notwendigkeit, diese Verheissungen der «underground frontier» und die damit verbundenen, oft unreflektierten Begriffe kritisch zu analysieren und historisch einzuordnen.