logo infoclio

About

of The Living Books about History


Living Books about History is a collection of digital anthologies on current topics of scholarly interest. Each book will feature an introductory essay by the Editors and bring together a selection of scholarly texts and sources. These contributions include articles, images, videos, websites or sound recordings, the majority of which are already freely available elsewhere on the Internet.

This project was inspired by Living Books about Life, a digital publication series initiated at Coventry University in 2011 under the direction of Gary Hall.

The project sees itself as a new form of scholarly publication and seeks to test the potentials of digital media in innovative ways. It revives the anthology form and connects scholarly articles and sources virtually through hyperlinks. Readers can participate in Living Books about History by suggesting further contributions, which will be added to the table of contents after approval by the editors. (For this, please use the function “Suggest a contribution” within the book in question.)

Living Books about History presents especially interesting and unjustly forgotten scholarly articles and sources on current topics. The selection made by the editors serves as a filter and highlights outstanding contributions from among the mass of information available on the Internet.

The project promotes open access in the humanities by bringing together, in a new form, contributions from the Internet that are available free of charge. The contents on the Internet are subject to a range of use rights. In order to raise awareness of the diversity of legal regulations and the complex application of intellectual property rights in the scholarly world, each Living Book about History provides a bibliographic reference to the first publication and the conditions of use of the individual contributions under the rubric “Attributions”. Cf. Copyrights.

All Living Books about History are available in the original language and English.

Living Books about History is a project of infoclio.ch
Project management: Enrico Natale
Conception and content review: Eliane Kurmann
Conception and technical review: Jan Baumann
Website: Mehdi Fertani
Graphic design: Séverine Mailler
Lectorate: Urs Hafner
Translations: Pamela Selwyn, Teresa Delgado, Petya Ivanova

logo infoclio

A Propos

LIVING BOOKS ABOUT HISTORY


Die Living Books about History sind eine Sammlung digitaler Anthologien zu aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Themen. Jedes Buch wird von einem Essay der herausgebenden Editorinnen und Editoren eingeleitet und führt eine Auswahl von wissenschaftlichen Texten und Quellen zusammen. Bei diesen Beiträgen handelt es sich um Artikel, Bilder, Videos, Webseiten oder Tonaufnahmen, die mehrheitlich bereits andernorts im Internet frei verfügbar sind.

Dieses Projekt lehnt sich an die Initiative Living Books about Life an, einer digitalen Publikationsreihe, die 2011 unter der Leitung von Gary Hall (Coventry University) initiiert wurde.

Das Projekt versteht sich als neue Form der wissenschaftlichen Publikation und will innovativ die Möglichkeiten der digitalen Medien erproben. Es belebt das Format der Anthologie neu und verbindet mithilfe von Hyperlinks wissenschaftliche Artikel und Quellen virtuell. Die Leserinnen und Leser können sich an den Living Books about History beteiligen, indem sie weitere Beiträge vorschlagen, die nach einer Überprüfung dem Inhaltsverzeichnis beigefügt werden. (Bitte nutzen Sie hierzu die Funktion „Beitrag vorschlagen“ innerhalb des entsprechenden Buchs.)

Die Living Books about History präsentieren besonders lesenswerte und zu Unrecht vergessen gegangene wissenschaftliche Artikel und Quellen zu einem aktuellen Thema. Die von den Editorinnen und Editoren getroffene Auswahl hat eine Filterfunktion und hebt herausragende Beiträge aus der Masse der im Internet verfügbaren Informationen hervor.

Das Projekt fördert Open Access in den Geisteswissenschaften, indem frei und kostenlos verfügbare Beiträge aus dem Internet in einer neuen Form zusammengeführt werden. Die im Internet stehenden Inhalte unterliegen unterschiedlichen Nutzungsrechten. Um für die Vielfalt der juristischen Bestimmungen und die komplexe Anwendung der Urheberrechte in den Wissenschaften zu sensibilisieren, verweist jedes Living Book about History im „Nachweis“ auf die bibliografischen Referenzen der Erstveröffentlichung und die Nutzungsbedingungen der einzelnen Beiträge. Vgl. „Copyrights“.

Alle Living Books about History sind in ihrer Originalsprache und in Englisch verfügbar.

Living Books about History ist ein Projekt von infoclio.ch
Projektleitung: Enrico Natale
Konzeption und inhaltliche Revision: Eliane Kurmann
Konzeption und technische Revision: Jan Baumann
Website: Mehdi Fertani
Grafik: Séverine Mailler
Lektorat: Urs Hafner
Übersetzungen: Pamela Selwyn, Teresa Delgado, Petya Ivanova