logo infoclio

About

of The Living Books about History


Living Books about History is a collection of digital anthologies on current topics of scholarly interest. Each book will feature an introductory essay by the Editors and bring together a selection of scholarly texts and sources. These contributions include articles, images, videos, websites or sound recordings, the majority of which are already freely available elsewhere on the Internet.

This project was inspired by Living Books about Life, a digital publication series initiated at Coventry University in 2011 under the direction of Gary Hall.

The project sees itself as a new form of scholarly publication and seeks to test the potentials of digital media in innovative ways. It revives the anthology form and connects scholarly articles and sources virtually through hyperlinks. Readers can participate in Living Books about History by suggesting further contributions, which will be added to the table of contents after approval by the editors. (For this, please use the function “Suggest a contribution” within the book in question.)

Living Books about History presents especially interesting and unjustly forgotten scholarly articles and sources on current topics. The selection made by the editors serves as a filter and highlights outstanding contributions from among the mass of information available on the Internet.

The project promotes open access in the humanities by bringing together, in a new form, contributions from the Internet that are available free of charge. The contents on the Internet are subject to a range of use rights. In order to raise awareness of the diversity of legal regulations and the complex application of intellectual property rights in the scholarly world, each Living Book about History provides a bibliographic reference to the first publication and the conditions of use of the individual contributions under the rubric “Attributions”. Cf. Copyrights.

All Living Books about History are available in the original language and English.

Living Books about History is a project of infoclio.ch
Project management: Enrico Natale
Conception and content review: Eliane Kurmann
Conception and technical review: Jan Baumann
Website: Mehdi Fertani
Graphic design: Séverine Mailler
Lectorate: Urs Hafner
Translations: Pamela Selwyn, Teresa Delgado, Petya Ivanova

logo infoclio

A propos

DES LIVING BOOKS ABOUT HISTORY


Les Living Books about History sont une collection d’anthologies numériques sur des thèmes de recherche actuels. Chaque livre contient un essai par les éditrices ou éditeurs, ainsi qu’une sélection de textes et de sources. Ces contributions peuvent être des articles, illustrations, vidéos, sites web ou enregistrements, qui existent pour la plupart déjà en libre accès sur internet.

Ce projet s’inspire de l’initiative Living Books about Life, une collection de livres numériques inaugurée en 2011 sous la direction de Gary Hall (Coventry university).

Le projet est une nouvelle forme de publication scientifique qui expérimente de façon innovante les possibilités offertes par le support numérique. Il réactualise le modèle de l’anthologie, en rassemblant virtuellement par des hyperliens des articles scientifiques et des sources. Les lectrices et les lecteurs peuvent contribuer aux Living Books about History en suggérant des contributions, qui seront intégrées à la table des matières après validation. (Merci d’utiliser la fonction „Proposer une contribution“ au sein de chaque livre).

Les Living Books mettent en valeur des articles scientifiques et des sources dignes d’intérêt ou injustement oubliées sur des thèmes actuels. La sélection réalisée par les éditrices et éditeurs agit ainsi comme un filtre qui permet de distinguer des contributions remarquables parmi la masse d’information disponible sur internet.

Le projet promeut l’Open Access dans les sciences humaines, en présentant sous une nouvelle forme des contributions librement accessibles sur le web. Les contenus disponibles en ligne sont soumis à des conditions d’utilisation hétérogènes. Afin de sensibiliser à la diversité des régimes juridiques et aux applications complexes des droits d’auteurs dans les sciences, chaque Living Book possède une section „Attribution“, qui détaille la référence bibliographique originale ainsi que les conditions d’utilisation pour chaque contribution. Voir aussi la section Droits d'auteur.

Tous les Living Books about History sont disponibles dans leur langue originale ainsi qu’en Anglais.

Living Books about History est un projet de infoclio.ch
Responsable du projet: Enrico Natale
Conception et révision des contenus: Eliane Kurmann
Conception et révision technique: Jan Baumann
Site web: Mehdi Fertani
Graphisme: Séverine Mailler
Relecture: Urs Hafner
Traductions: Pamela Selwyn, Teresa Delgado, Petya Ivanova